Alumni Profile: Lindsey W

It’s been just over a year since I decided to take the esthetics program at Delmar, and exactly 6 months since I graduated the program with honors, and a perfect attendance record. This was something I was extremely proud of (and still am!) but when it came time to put everything I had learned into practice, it was a little scary!

Lindsey W 2.2.png

I started working for Skoah doing retail and reception while I was still an esthetics student. My program at Delmar was 4 days a week, so I worked 3 days a week at Skoah as a Skin Care Coach. I decided I wanted a foot in the door of the beauty industry before I graduated, and this was a good place to start. I loved my weekends there, learning the product line, and getting a feel for the environment.

Lindsey W 2.1

For anyone who doesn’t know much about Skoah, it is a facial only spa – we call ourselves a “skin gym” complete with memberships, just like regular gyms, and my official title as an esthetician is “Skin Care Trainer”. The philosophy is that your skin needs regular workouts (facials) to stay healthy and look its best – just like your body! It is a Canadian company founded in Vancouver. I love supporting Canadian companies and take pride in working for one, and contributing to its success!

Lindsey W 2.3.png

So some of you might be thinking: “you ONLY do facials?! Don’t you get bored? What about all your other skills?” It’s true. I only do facials, but it absolutely does not get boring! Every single person’s skin is different, and I get endless satisfaction out of figuring out what is best for each individual person’s skin type, accomplishing their goals, and figuring what kind of home care regimen is going to fit into their daily schedule. It is like a giant puzzle for me to solve, and is so satisfying when I finally do! It is also true that I learned so many more skills at Delmar that I am currently not using, but skin care was always where it was at for me! Any one of my classmates, and my instructors can tell you how much I hated manicures, and how I swore after my last quota that I would never do another manicure in my life! Okay, that was dramatic of me, but there is absolutely nothing stopping me from pursuing different aspects of esthetics in the future!

image8

For now I love my days spent at Skoah helping people feel the best about their skin, and helping them get the healthiest skin they could possibly imagine! I love getting results from my products and my facials, and seeing my clients on a regular basis. I can’t tell you how many women come in and say “I have developed adult acne and I need help!” I give them a relaxing facial, educate them on how to properly take care of their skin, and send them home with a regimen that we have discussed, and then 4 weeks later they come back with improved skin!  It’s such a great feeling knowing that I have actually helped them feel better about themselves and taught them something that they didn’t know before! Educating my clients is one of my favourite parts of my job, and I would not be able to do this if I hadn’t received the best education possible from my wonderful instructors at Delmar. I often hear Raelyn’s voice in my head, telling me to slow down my massage, or making me recite the secrets of client retention. I cannot thank her enough for always demanding excellence of me in school, and therefore I now demand excellence of myself in the workplace.

My time spent at Delmar molded me into the successful esthetician I have become over the last year. I have excellent sales, I have loyal clients that trust me to take the best possible care of their skin, and wonderful co-workers that I constantly learn from; I feel so proud to be where I am. The possibilities are still endless for me and my career. This is just the beginning for me! I will soon start to be trusted to train new Skin Care Trainers that start at Skoah, which is a very big responsibility that I am excited to be entrusted with! And then after that who knows where my career path will take me! All I know is that the sky is the limit, and that I am forever grateful to my time at Delmar for setting me up for success.

Lindsey

image2

no gimmicks. just great education

www.delmarcollege.com

2 comments

  1. Raelyn McKay · May 12

    Forever proud of you, Elle-Dubs.

    Like

  2. Pingback: May 2017 at Delmar: a Recap | delmar.college.blog

Leave a Reply

