Diary of a Hair Student: Entry #1 by Morgan Calvert

Today is my first entry in my college diary.  I believe these monthly logs will be very helpful to many people thinking about hair school, or even currently in school for any interest, as a reassurance that the struggles you are facing are normal.

I started Delmar College on May 4th 2017.  So far it has been an amazing experience. I chose to attend Delmar College because it was recommended to me by a barber living in Calgary that I had a lot of respect for, who said he thought it would suit me as an artist. When I saw “hair tattoo artist” Rob Ferrel, who does amazing hair tattooing in mostly men’s hair and under cuts, I was hooked.

I have met people in my class that I can already tell that I’m going to be good friends with for the rest of my life. During the first couple days the instructors told us that we would be like family by the end of the course. I was skeptical of this statement, but I can now say that after only one month that I believe them.

So far we have learned how to do something called a 50/50 set, basic shapes of cuts, finger waves, sectioning and we are now just starting to learn perms and layering in cutting class. Every time we start something new I think to myself “this is the hardest thing I’ve ever done and I’m never going to be a hair dresser,” but after a few times practicing it you catch on! This course really teaches you that practice really does make perfect!!

And here are some pictures I’ve taken to document my first month on this amazing adventure!

Morgan C 1

This is from our very first day of class


Morgan C 1.1

This is one of the first days we actually worked with our mannequins

 

Morgan C 1.3

This is the very first cut we ever did in cutting class, a triangle cut


Morgan C 1.4

50/50 set


Morgan C 1.5

First perm practice


Morgan C 1.6

And here we all are with our mannequins after our first layering lesson

I can’t wait to fill you all in on what we have all learned next month, but until then stay creative and keep positive!!!!

Morgan

Morgan C Head Shot

no gimmicks. just great education

www.delmarcollege.com

Leave a Reply

