Diary of a Hair Student Entry #2 by Morgan Calvert

Hello again everyone.  This is my second diary entry, and hair school is starting to get really interesting.

unnamed

Me getting to the CosmoProf hair show with one of my classmates

They really kicked up the work load starting this month, and it’s beginning to get a little challenging, but I know that this is something I really want to do with my life so I’ll never give up! So far in the month of June we have learned all line cuts and we just finished learning all of the layers as well. The next thing we will be learning about is graduation in cutting hair, and I’m really excited about this but also just a smidgeon nervous because I’ve heard from classes that are a couple months ahead of us that that’s when it gets harder!

img_0100.png

Me meeting the Wella educator

One thing I’ve noticed that has improved since I’ve started hair school is my time management. My agenda has become my best friend, because even with going to school 30 hours a week, and working on your days off you need to make time for yourself and still have fun so you don’t get stressed out!

img_0097.png

Me and my classmate getting excited about American Crew

Delmar also gets tickets for students at discounted rates sometimes, and I highly recommend going to the hair shows. I’ve only been to one so far, but I learned a lot and discovered new colouring techniques! I also met many successful people in the hair industry from all different product lines.

img_0099.png

Me meeting the American Crew educator

We are just now getting into our practical exams. We did our first mock head massage exam, and it actually went really well, I was super nervous and shaking a small amount when my instructor was watching me to make sure I was doing it right but other than that I really enjoyed the experience!

img_0090.png

Me practicing color melting with Matrix

Monthly tip : Never use your hot tools on high heat!! A girl in my class was using the curling iron on my hair and it was on high heat because her hair and the mannequin hair could handle it, but since my hair had been processed it just melted an entire curl off.

Until next time, stay positive and keep learning!

Morgan

Morgan C Head Shot

no gimmicks. just great education

www.delmarcollege.com

 

Leave a Reply

