Student of the Month: Lily Young

Hi! I’m Lily and I am a student in the esthetician program at Delmar and loving it! When it came to choosing where I wanted to study, I had a handful of places in mind, but luckily for me, Delmar made the decision easy. When I met with Linda, the Director of Esthetics, her welcoming smile and passion for what she does won me over right away. Hearing about how she got to where she is today ignited something in me and I left that meeting full of excitement, ready to get started!

img_0421

Receiving my award for Student of the Month

I am currently in my 8th week of 27 and can’t believe how quickly the weeks are flying by! Each week I look forward to theory in the mornings with Rae. Her style of teaching just clicks with me and I enjoy sharing in her knowledge. Then my afternoon is spent with Christy in the spa, where I develop my practical skill. Thanks to Christy’s patience and talent we were able to take our first clients last week and all though it was a little nerve- racking it was a lot of fun to put what we had learned into practise.

 

Lily Carroll

Scavenger hunt with senior student Nicole. We won 3rd place and had heaps of fun!

Without sounding too much of a cliché I have loved everything about my Delmar experience this far, pedicures being my favourite service -to my surprise! I have to give a shout out to my classmates, I feel extremely lucky to have such a motivational, supportive group of girls and I look forward to growing in knowledge and skill with them.

img_0002

My amazing classmates!

If I was to give future students any advice I would say just show up everyday ready to learn and have fun.

I am so excited in what the future holds for me, once I have graduated I hope to work in a spa to develop my skills further and gain some real life work experience. My dream is to own a spa and with a lot of hard work and dedication I believe this is possible.

Lily Carroll 1

A snap from my wedding last year. I have lived in Calgary for 5 years, but I am originally from the UK. Having my family all together is a rarity and something I cherish. My family are my world and I miss them every day.

A big thank you to my instructors Rae and Christy, your guidance and encouragement has built my confidence and continues to do so everyday. I can’t wait to see what the rest of my Delmar journey will entail.

Lily

no gimmicks. just great education

www.delmarcollege.com

Leave a Reply

