Delmar Student Ambassador: Lainnee Simpson

Hi, my name is Lainnee and I am currently in the Hair Design program at Delmar.

I chose Delmar after I had done research on many different hair design schools. I knew I wanted to come to Calgary, even though it was much further for me from home, because of the amazing reviews on this school. I had talked to a couple people who are graduates and they had nothing but great things to say, Delmar just seemed to be a perfect fit.

image1

Working on a bride

Ever since I was young I have been interested in the beauty industry. I am inspired by the way a career can become art and expression, and you can help others feel good about themselves. The past few years I have done makeup for weddings, grads, and events, and have finished my eyelash extension and nail tech course. I had felt that something was missing. This is when I decided it was time to go to hair school. I feel more comfortable in this course than in anything else I have ever done. I have the best support from my family and friends, which made this decision very easy.

image2

A makeup look I did

My advice for future students at Delmar is: Never stop trying and practicing. If this is something you are passionate about doing, just do it and don’t look back, you will not be disappointed.

unnamed

Some styling work I did on my mannequin in class

After graduating I see myself completing my apprentice hours under an amazing stylist back home. After I complete my government exam I plan to open my own salon in my hometown. The thing I look forward to the most is waking up everyday and going to a job I enjoy and am passionate about.

unnamed

Working on fingerwaves in class

My favourite part about school so far is learning from teachers who are so passionate about what they are teaching, and who genuinely care about your future in this industry. Many things I have learned so far are difficult and take a lot of practice. I still have a lot to learn but I look forward to continuing to get better and having such great people help me succeed.

Lainnee

image4

Lainnee Simpson is our August 2017 Delmar Student Ambassador. Every month we select a student who we believe represents Delmar College, and the beauty industry, with the highest regard. We reward them with an amazing prize and feature them in our blog. 

no gimmicks. just great education

www.delmarcollege.com

Leave a Reply

