To Barber or not to barber? Guest blog by Alison Confrey

Delmar welcomes a new barbering/stylist program to the list! Starting this exciting new path of men’s grooming at Delmar College is going to be taught by Alison Confrey.  Here is her story!

 


By: Alison Confrey

 

Hi! I am Alison, Delmar’s first 1400 hour Barbering/Hairstylist instructor. ‘To barber or not to barber?’  That was the question facing me in 2014 when I was offered a position as a Barber in the Downtown Core. Not a very difficult question you say!

However, I was living just outside Dublin, Ireland at the time so it was a huge one for me! I am Irish through and through and had never considered living outside of Ireland. So, the challenge of moving to a new country was a major decision for me and my family. This also meant leaving behind everything I knew about ladies hairstyling and moving into the world of barbering which was an even scarier decision at the time. In my 25 years as a busy stylist, I also taught apprentices and managed salons. However, barbering to me consisted of older men going to older barbers for their ‘short back and sides, please’!

My family decided to ‘bite the bullet’ and move to Calgary arriving in freezing temperatures we had never seen before! It wasn’t long before I started work and to say that I was nervous is a huge understatement! However, looking back, it was the BEST decision I ever made!

9D52A0F3-A8A3-491A-9081-199943E821C6

Some of Alison’s work

 

 

Wow! I was shocked at how much the men’s grooming industry is booming here. It is so much more than the ‘short sides and back’ I was anticipating! Being in the downtown core, surrounded by oil companies, banks and law offices, has proven to me how much guys are into how they look and how their look is perceived by others. They are completely up-to-date and focused on men’s trends which is incredible! All my fears were ‘quashed’ and it is exciting to work with colleagues who are vibrant, fashion-forward go-getters!

 

38223DE5-FFFF-4D0F-9DA5-17CA6B2F435D

Some of Alison’s work

 

Being a barber is such a fun, creative and exciting career and I encourage you to get involved! Coupling this with learning new skills like hot shaves and hair tattooing has made me decide to be part of Delmar’s new program. It is so exciting!

 

Delmar has put together a totally new program combining everything you will need to enter into the wonderful world of barbering including all haircutting (both scissor and clipper), fades, hair tattooing, hot shaves, facial massage, facial hair design and much more!!!! Your major will be in Barbering and you will be able to join any barbershop with confidence in your skills! You will also get a solid grounding in all the techniques required to pass your government licensing exams necessary to become a Licensed Hairstylist.

img_0692-e1508787648774.jpg

Delmar’s First Barbering/Stylist class!

 

We are very excited to begin this new journey which is a HUGE step forward in the industry! Follow our progress through the program!

For more information regarding our program, please contact Shauna at shaunad@delmarcollege.com . We can’t wait to meet you!

 


DELMARCOLLEGE.COM
No gimmicks just great education

Leave a Reply

