Diary of a hair student #6 by Morgan Calvert

Hello Everyone,

We’re all just entering our seventh month of the 1400 hour hair program, and we’re finally on the salon floor full time. Its been a lot of fun,  having clients and getting to work with real human hair instead of the mannequins.

When the instructors tell you that working on a real human head is easier then mannequin hair they  aren’t kidding at all! I use to think they were just telling us that so we wouldn’t panic about being on the salon floor but now I realize that it’s just truth.

 

So if you’re struggling to get your sections even or neat, just know that its way easier then you’re being set up to believe.

Also working with color is super rewarding and I have so much fun doing it and making clients happy with their new looks when leaving the salon!

 

I’ve come to the conclusion that my favourite things to do on the salon floor are dramatic transformations. For example I had a client that had been blonde for eight years and decided that she wanted to be a dark auburn, it took me five hours to complete but I felt super accomplished when I finished the job and my client was happy with her hair! (see attached photo below)

 

unnamed-5

Color Correction done by Morgan Calvert

 

I hope you enjoyed seeing some of my work this month!

Thank you for reading.
-Morgan Calvert

unnamed

 

 

No gimmicks, Just great Education!

 

 

 

 

 

DELMAR_logo_RGB_72ppi


   Social Media Coordinator Brittany Connors

Leave a Reply

